How To BE Brave?

Bravery, to me it’s some sort of thing that happens. Some are born with it, some are not, and some may still wait for it to come to them. What really grinds my gears about this is that, I myself may not be fully brave, or let’s say Spiderman*slash*Superman kinda brave, inhuman kind. I was watching a horror movie with a close friend (and finished it just a few minutes before writing this), it was called “Horror Mama” or maybe just “Mama”. I’d really like to tell you about it but I don’t think I can, I really just, like really really just want to forget about it. It was weird. But then again bravery, what is it? How do you be brave? Here’s my slice on it.

To me I guess bravery is continuing on when you don’t want to, but because of fear. Well it’s a “duh” for that, I mean isn’t it already obvious? But a question I really want an answer for is, how do you separate yourself from what’s “real” and what’s “not”. Let’s take it into perspective shall we. That movie I just watched a few minutes ago had characters obviously out of this world, but there’s a feeling inside that it could be real. I’m literally nonetheless automatically putting myself into the situation of the oh so unfortunate protagonists affected by the damn weird creature, in that movie of course. But we all know that it won’t happen. So why? Or How? How do you get yourself to believe that a movie is just a movie, and whatever happens to a movie stays in the movie, which reminds me.. “What stays in Vegas, stays in Vegas” Or maybe it was said some other way, I don’t know.

So, what are some ways to be brave? Or perhaps even, HOW to be brave? Your comments are highly appreciated! Until next time!

[And just in case you were wondering where I got these bad ass quotes, type in on Google Images “bravery quotes tumblr” Tumblr has everything!]

Published by

Ivan Matthew

Hi! I'm Ivan. Reality is I sucked at English 101 but I love to read and write stuff. Thanks for passing by.

4 thoughts on “How To BE Brave?”

  1. I, for one, draw strength from my friends. Very Naruto-ish or Kingdom Hearts-y you may say, but it’s true. They’re the reason I am capable of “braving” the obstacles in my path.

    As for horror movies… I enjoy them. I have schadenfreude you see, and though I don’t practice it in real life, I get all the satisfaction I need from watching people die in a horror film. It sort of… keeps the balance. Hehe, don’t I ever get scared of them? No.

    Now horror games… that’s scary. It’s scarier than horror films because it’s yourself that is the victim. Even moreso when the game designers decided not to give you any way to defend yourself. I can only tell you this… never play in the dark or when you’re alone. Haha. Now that’s drawing strength in action.

    1. That’s some new stuff! But I’m kind of the opposite of you, I find it extremely uncomfy when things go bad especially to the people in it, the horror movie I mean. Horror games, well… they’re bad! haha

  2. I does make me wonder as well but to me in my opinion bravery or the act of being brave is more on like standing up for others or yourself in the midst of difficulty and misunderstanding. I really enjoyed what you wrote and I would like to commend you for doing an excellent job, please keep up the good work.

    1. Interesting! I too get brave-like when it’s my turn to get a hold on to things (dangerous moments perhaps haha) And thank you so much! I’m really glad you like it 🙂

What's your opinion?

