On Failing and Keeping up Schedules

         It’s the start of the summer and new year’s resolutions aren’t going well as of the moment which makes me think how unreliable starts of the years are for me, which is kind of bad – actually no, it is bad! And I’ve been keeping up with hopefully achieving all these resolutions like getting better at Math, getting a bit more organized etc. for the past 3 years, which at the same time ago I never really cared about.

Okay, so, right, I don’t really have a knack for math. Yes, Math – specifically Calculus – even though any Mathematical topic before that I never did well – Or a knack for waking up early to go to a math class. And right now I’m suffering the consequences. It’s like reading a good book but then quitting in the middle because man it just isn’t good enough, or worse you’re not good enough for the book. I failed math.

I failed Math bad. It’s scary and depressing to think about. Firstly I just wasted a year’s worth of Math in terms of money, and my parent’s money that is, and I took one off from the limit of three fails of a Major before getting kicked out of the Architecture program. And listen, this is even worse, I failed another subject – solely because our professor couldn’t disseminate exam schedules. Two times I’ve walked into class completely flustered as to why my peers were writing stuff on a “blue” book and as I looked into them,their eyes were just as confused as I was. Luckily, this summer, a petition was made to have that class again for those who failed and those who didn’t deserve to.

Thinking this through, definitely, it is heartbreaking and any student who tries hard to keep up with a completely busy schedule whilst not failing would feel complete crap. I felt that way, and I’m feeling that way. I haven’t even told my parents but I will in a while, because you should be brave in the face of adversity! Wow Ivan, great going. Inspiration ftw! 

If you’re a college student and about to pick some subjects. Do NOT take subjects that you completely suck at in the morning. By morning I mean, unreasonably early. It’s nice to have a cushion between subjects, just like having a great breakfast – which I believe should be blueberry pancakes, a warm cup of coffee plus some of those organic stuff to contrast the decadent sweetness and heavenly nature of those blueberry pancakes – would start your day off just perfect.

And I’m keeping up a schedule now. This blog has been an on and off thing and I’m deciding that this summer break would be a change for me. So I’ll be conjuring something  up every Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Sunday! Which is awesome because man 4 is a cool number and I have some motivation to write more.

Here’s one way to look at failure

I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.

Thomas A. Edison

Failing sucks and if you’ve ever failed some point in your life may it be big or small, do let me know in the comments!

And If you found this one a fun read, I’d be very grateful if you shared this on your Facebook, twitter or email to anyone who’d like to read it. Thanks!

Published by

Ivan Matthew

Hi! I'm Ivan. Reality is I sucked at English 101 but I love to read and write stuff. Thanks for passing by.

What's your opinion?

