Be Happy Alone

11193361_10153166109186413_3284166787851818335_n

Cover photo of Last Dinosaurs’ latest single, Evie. I loved this one because it has some optical illusion going on, have a closer look at it yourself 

This will be a short one due to the limited minutes I have here in this cozy yet lonely cafe. Usually it’d be filled with students from the college across the street which I jokingly may call savages because once they get into a game with their peers time isn’t of the essence anymore not even morals.

I’ve touched on this subject multiple times and I just can’t seem to get over it. It’s a mix of personal and unchangeable variables that keep intact every time I think about it, which is the happiness and sadness of being alone. I don’t consider myself completely alone – right now I can because of summer being such a long drag and everyone’s just doing their own thing and me still existing in the same old dorm that I stayed in for the past two years. I long for a change of scene and it’s not happening.

I always like to believe that there would be much better things for me beyond my current predicament, which obviously, would be true even for anyone as time goes by aaaandd even though I constantly fall into the trap of thinking otherwise.

I find myself in pity thinking of my current social life, so much potential! But almost completely wasted. Deep inside though, I can’t truly blame myself for it, I’m literally in a place where people such as I go through a filter of bias with no expectation by the locals to even fit in. Despite me being the same nationality as everyone else, people still don’t seem to understand that and continue on with their lives treating me, rather poorly, as “one” of them. Now to that I can say I’m alone.

*Leaves booth and extends time left to an hour*

It’s not a completely sad story really, in fact it isn’t even a sad one. It’s only sad if you see the depressing part of it or simply seeing anything about being alone depressing and sad. As an individual I don’t really find myself scared or fearful, I know I can make things happen for me at times when I need to, I don’t even find myself anti-social in any form. And as of this moment I’ve made peace with the facts that life isn’t always going to be easy or expected to be and all it really takes is time and a certain mindset filled with compassion, inspiration, focus and thankfulness for what you have right NOW. And to that I can say I’m pretty happy alone.

Truly in the end, all that matters is how much you can handle being alone. To the point where happiness can be found anywhere by yourself or from others. It becomes an option because of all the varieties out there!

One piece of advice – don’t do the same thing again and again! Once you feel the monotony from doing one thing do something else, because the worse thing you can get caught in is in your own thoughts (Monotony does that!).

Being alone right now, I can tell, that your BEST friend would be your mind and you need to constantly lead it to the right track. Unless you want to go crazy

Published by

Ivan Matthew

Hi! I'm Ivan. Reality is I sucked at English 101 but I love to read and write stuff. Thanks for passing by.

What's your opinion?

