Just Be Happy

A few months ago I viewed this certain aspect of life differently compared to what IT actually is. Sometimes I would even shrug it off and sacrifice it for things that would make me “happier” as if it were measurable. Which was the problem. To give you guys some depth I’m writing this in an internet cafe, which seems like one of my favorite places to write stuff, and it’s 2:00 am where I’m at.

I’m writing this because at this moment of my life I’ve realized something so bizzare and obvious that I’d kill my past self for not seeing it, happiness is a choice. Well I guess I could say I already knew it, we all do, but to really grasp the choice of it is something else.

A famous youtuber went through depression and documented his whole transformation to what he is right now a “happy” person and at one point he said “Comparison is the theft to happiness“. It made so much sense to me because at the time everything that I did was something that needed comparison to, not necessarily to people but to all things. Right then and there I asked, why can’t I just leave it be? Why can’t I just be happy with it? Why not? And to tell you the truth I had no answer for it.

Realizing it, life in general is a pursuit of happiness or for happiness. We all want success, appreciation, love and all the good things – we all want to be happy. But we’re held back by the expectations of the pressures of society or our peers among many other things. But if you give yourself a chance to reevaluate “Am I happy?” “Why can’t I be?” “Who am I not to be?” “Who’s to stop me from being happy?”

It’s simple, no matter what the drawback is, let it be the hardest you’ve ever encountered because really eventually it will be okay. No matter what. So at times when adversity is present or absent just be happy and celebrate every little thing life has to offer.

On a side note

One random thought whilst proofreading this short write up – I truly believe that “being happy” is not equal to being “okay” with certain things – if you have the capability of pushing the envelope further than go for it! Never sell yourself short!

Published by

Ivan Matthew

Hi! I'm Ivan. Reality is I sucked at English 101 but I love to read and write stuff. Thanks for passing by.

What's your opinion?

